Advertisement:

Pages: [1] |   Go Down

Author Topic: I married a non-muslim  (Read 2089 times)

uncledodat

I married a non-muslim
« on: Jan. 08, 2012, 08:24 AM »

Assalaamualaikum,

I am married to a non-Muslim woman. And before I get into how I wish for a Muslim wife right to this day. I must start by saying I was not born Muslim. I took my shahada at the age of 16 and never made it to the second pillar of Islam (salah) due to not surrounding myself with believers. I just didn't have that support system. I studied very hard and forgot more than half of what I learned. 19yrs has passed 10 of which I have been married to a non Muslim woman. I don't know where to begin. The arguments, the on and off separations, the disrespect to God & me, the total misunderstanding. Her family against me. We have three children together. Two girls(8&2) one boy(6) I have recently started to revert back to Islam according to the sunnah and I have been taking my son with me to jumah and teaching him wudu & how to pray as we are learning Al Fatiha together. And so many things that I'd learned before just came flooding back to me. But this only comes after falling to my knees asking Allah for help and guidance from the turmoil that has occurred in my marriage. Just not knowing what to do. Once on my knees I remembered that I am a Muslim man. I have lost my way. But I have long declared "la ilaha illa Allah" But how did I forget in the first place? Shatan is tricky that's how. He made me believe that a person religion didn't matter as long as they was a good person. And this is so far from the truth.  What I didn't know then. That it isn't permissible to marry for beauty. As well as social status and I cannot remember the others. But what I do remember is that marrying because she believes as you believe is permissible. (aka religion) What about my daughters will they wear the hijab even though mommies does not? Shouldn't mommy set that example? Can you imagine my rage from watching some