Madinat al-Muslimeen Islamic Message Board
|05/01/01 at 11:51:29|
|asalaamu alaikum all,|
I was reading our Holy Quran last night and in English,
"The food of the people of the Scripture is lawful to you..."
does that mean if Halal food (Islamically) is not available, muslims can eat kosher, or do they not do that for partisan reasons?
and Christian meat?
help please! there aren't many halal options where i am
and as well, is it true that if you don't eat meat for 40 days you lose your faith (i heard this). please shed some light. asalaamu alaikum. anik,.
|Re: Haram food|
|05/01/01 at 11:59:13|
|[slm][quote]is it true that if you don't eat meat for 40 days you lose your faith[/quote]|
Sheeeesh! The kinds of things people come up with!!!
|Re: Haram food|
|05/01/01 at 13:50:27|
The christians do that, their fasting consists of not eating meat for the 40 days before easter.
Kosher food is same as halal, they slaughter the animal the same way we do and a rabbi checks that there's no blood and then he certifies it and it's kosher and we can eat it.
As for the christians, there's a difference of opinion. I know some brothers that don't eat their meat cuz it wasn't slaughtered in the name of Allah and the animal was usually killed in a slaughterhouse with a stun gun, blow to the head, etc. Others cite the same ayah you mentioned and say that as long as we mention the name of Allah before eating it then it's ok.
And Allah knows best
[color=red][Moderator's Note: This thread is once again bringing up a topic that has been hashed and rehashed. So to save general angst all around it is being closed.][/color]
Individual posts do not necessarily reflect the views of Jannah.org, Islam, or all Muslims. All trademarks and copyrights on this page are owned by their respective owners. Comments are owned by the poster and may not be used without consent of the author.The rest © Jannah.Org