// Dorritos and cheetos stil haram?
    Peace be upon you,
    Welcome to Madinat Al-Muslimeen, the City of the Muslims. Please feel free to visit the different hot spots around the Madina and post any discussion, articles, suggestions, comments, art, poetry, events, recipes, etc etc. Basically anything you would like to share with your sisters and brothers!! Non-muslims are also of course quite welcome to share their comments. If this is your first time here, you need to register with the city council. Once you register you have 15 days to post your mandatory introduction and then you will be upgraded to a Madina Citizen, God Willing. Please note that our city does have regulations which are listed in the city constitution. Read them carefully before moving in. P.S. - You can also post anonymously if you wish. P.S.S. - Also be sure to check out our ARCHIVES from 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006 & 2007. :)

Random Quote: Meet people in such a manner that if you die, they should weep for you, and if you live, they should long for you - Ali (radi Allahu anhu)
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Dorritos and cheetos stil haram?  (Read 1934 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
blackrose
Sis
Hero Member
*

Reputation Power: 3
blackrose has no influence :(
Gender: Female
Posts: 1649



« on: Aug 06, 2008 04:45 AM »


salaam

I just wanted to know if they are still haram
tq
Sis
Sr. Member
*

Reputation Power: 18
tq has no influence :(
Gender: Female
Posts: 381


« Reply #1 on: Aug 06, 2008 07:21 PM »

Assalamo elikuim

May be this will help

http://muslimmatters.org/2007/07/09/of-mice-and-men-the-cheese-factor/


Wasalam
tq
Faizah
Sis
Sr. Member
*

Reputation Power: 3
Faizah has no influence :(
Gender: Female
Posts: 365



« Reply #2 on: Aug 06, 2008 09:20 PM »

For me Doritos and Cheetos and anything like it would be deadly as I'm allergic to milk protein  Sad   Found that out the hard (or should I say the scary) way.    My children (love them as I do) enjoy sitting in front of me eating ice cream and whatnot knowing I can't eat any; yet they also eat my soy ice cream bars.

Fa'izah
peaceman
Bro
Newbie
*

Reputation Power: 0
peaceman has no influence :(
Gender: Male
Posts: 38


WWW
« Reply #3 on: Aug 10, 2008 01:06 PM »

Salam alaikum wrb,

Honorable sister,

      When looking at the ruling saying that dorritos and cheetos, and cheese are haram, you
should find out and inquire on who made this ruling. Was it a noble scholar, that researched
the rulings of our predecessors to prophet Muhammed saw, or was it someone speaking from
his or her personal interpretation without knowledge?

       The article by Yasir Qadhi, as well as many of his other articles and lectures, is quite excellent in
what the scholars of Islam say about this issue, i.e. the issue of transformation from one substance
to another, and the issue of mixing a minute quantity of a substance not affecting the ruling of the
majority substance.  There are situations where the substance is tranformed from one thing to another,
and hence get a new ruling. An example of this is like grape juice being transformed to alcohol being
transformed to vinegar. Another example would be digestion. As well as Evaporation into the air followed by
condensation of rain into the streams. 

       It is encumbant on everyone to study what the scholars say about issues such as this, so that they could
learn an know what is allowed and forbidden for them, and avoid commiting any sins in the future. It is also encumbant for everyone to obey the commands of Allah and His Messenger completely and wholeheartedly after they have learned them, and avoid the forbidden, and not continue doing something sinful. Also after learning what the scholars say on these issues, one should convey them to their colleagues, so that they should also be aware
of the rulings regarding these issues. 

      There are many great articles and lectures on the Islamic laws on the Internet. I would encourage everyone to read them and study from them, and increase their knowledge. This could be done quite easily, whereas the generations before us had to make quite a bit of effort, often travelling great distances to faraway lands in order to seek the knowledge.

      And Allah knows.

Salam alaikum
   

   

      And Allah knows. 

May Allah increase you in knowledge.
Take a look at my site:  http://www.tajwid.info

Also a good site with several mp3 durus of beneficial knowledge from our ulema, fiqh explaining the book "bulgh Maram" , Q&A, http://www.imamfaisal.com
a_desert_rose
Sis
Sr. Member
*

Reputation Power: 0
a_desert_rose has no influence :(
Gender: Female
Posts: 310



« Reply #4 on: Aug 30, 2008 03:21 PM »

Assalamualaikum,

Most Doritos flavours now have no animal rennet in their ingredients and are labeled as suitable for vegetarians but I'm not sure about Cheetos. I did hear that the Walkers Sensations thai chilli flavour contains alcohol but I don't know for sure.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to: